Student See. Student Do.

Reflection is a part of teaching. As the new calendar year begins, I find myself rethinking, reworking, and reorganizing for my students. In response to Margaret Regan’s Edutopia posting Six Steps to Master Teaching: Becoming a Reflective Practitioner, I am dedicating the next several blog entries to these six steps.

Step#2 Cultivate Ethical Behavior in Your Students and Yourself

Modeling has been an educational buzz word for decades, yet we can never model too much. In the season of high stakes testing, teachers tend to become on-edge when losing time before the big day. Change is not always welcome in our diesel engine of a school year; however, change is common in every day life.

Do you have a daily routine? What happens when that routine is broken?

My nephew and godson had a play date on Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. I have the honor of keeping both of them on such holidays because we have common holidays while their parents must continue to work.

My nephew Will fell off his motorized scooter at one point during the morning. He had two choices: stay on the ground and moan, cry, complain (and waste his playing time); or get up, shake it off and use his play time wisely. After a few minutes and a few tears, Will was on his scooter again. I am amazed the resilience of children!

Like Will, teachers have two choices. We can teach our students that change only has negative connotations by moaning, complaining, and wasting our precious time becoming aggravated; or we can embrace it and use it to our advantage, teaching our students how to bounce back into a positive state of mind.

Cultivating ethical behavior is as simple as getting back on the scooter! Mohandas Gandhi always has great advice; we as teachers “must be the change [they] wish to see in the world.”

We have to be the models for our students as well as our new teachers. Let’s make the teacher’s lounge, work rooms, and meetings places we all want to be – positive, encouraging and productive.

4 Comments

Filed under Master Teaching, Reflection

4 responses to “Student See. Student Do.

  1. I love it! Great post and I completely agree! I share some challenges I have in my school with my students sometimes so that they see that I also have to shake it off and keep it moving. For example if something comes up and I lose my prep period I let them know, “well unfortunately you guys don’t have gym and I don’t have a prep but there are tons of things we can catch up on so it isn’t the end of the world! Lets finish our …….” I totally agree with this post!

  2. I completely agree with you and I tried to teach my young K-2 students the same thing!

Leave a Reply

